Finland makes it nine for the UPC Agreement

Finland makes it nine - so only two more countries plus UK and Germany are needed to ratify the UPC Agreement before it takes effect

Finland has become the 9th country to ratify the Unified Patent Court (“UPC”) Agreement by depositing its instrument of ratification (further details here).

This means that just two further countries plus the United Kingdom and Germany now need to ratify the UPC Agreement in order for the UPC Agreement to take effect.

As reported here, the UK have also taken a significant step towards ratifying the UPC Agreement by publishing a Statutory Instrument which sets out how the UK Patents Act is to be amended.