Brexit Update - Withdrawal Agreement

On 9 January 2020, MPs gave their final backing to the bill that will implement the UK government's Brexit deal. The Commons voted in favour of the Withdrawal Agreement Bill, which will now pass to the House of Lords for further review. The bill covers "divorce" payments to the EU, citizens' rights, customs arrangements for Northern Ireland and the planned 11-month transition period.

Provided the Withdrawal Agreement passes through the UK Parliament and is ratified by the European Parliament later this month, the UK will leave the EU on 31 January. After 31 January, the UK will cease to be an EU member, but will continue to follow its rules and contribute to its budget during the transition period, which will end on 31st December 2020.